Home Campus Directory | A-Z Index

40th Annual Awards Banquet Honors Students and Faculty

4/25/2008 —

The 40th Annual Penn State Beaver Spring Awards Banquet was held recently on campus to celebrate a variety of student, faculty, and staff achievements throughout the academic year.

Jamie Silicki, a junior communications major from Beaver, received the University’s highest student honor, the prestigious Eric A. and Josephine S. Walker Award which recognizes one student’s highest achievements in and out of the classroom at each Penn State campus.

Other winners and awards received were:

College of Business Award - Ian Sheridan, business graduate (Dec. 2007), Beaver Falls

Management / Marketing Award - Nicole Lloyd, business graduate (Dec. 2007), Newell, WV

College of Communications Award - Andrew Michael, senior, communications major, Bloomsburg

College of Education Award - Dante DeNome, sophomore, education major, Chippewa

Secondary Education Award - Michael Kowalski, sophomore, education major, Beaver

College of Engineering Award - Brett Rostron, junior, engineering major, State College

Chemical Engineering Award - James Newell, sophomore, engineering major, Coraopolis

Mechanical Engineering Award - Jericha Cain, sophomore, engineering major, Center Township

Information Systems and Development Option Award - Daniel Collins, senior, information sciences and technology major, New Castle

School of Information Sciences and Technology Award and College Honors Program Award - Kenneth Garlitz, senior, information sciences and technology major, Monaca

Applied Psychology Award - Kaitlyn Foster, senior, applied psychology major, Beaver Falls

Eberly College of Science Award - Melissa Siget, sophomore, science major, Industry

Chemistry Award - Mei Kishiki, sophomore, division of undergraduate studies major, Bethel Park

President’s Freshman Award - Ethan R. Healey, freshman, engineering major, Hopewell

President’s Freshman Award - E. Seon Kwon, freshman, liberal arts major, Seoul, Korea

Robert J. Miklos Memorial Award - Zachary Fetchin, sophomore, division of undergraduate studies major, Hopewell

Campus Honors Program Awards
Mitchell Barr, freshman, engineering major, Moon Township
Louis Colaianni, freshman, business major, Irwin
Ron Ferrie, sophomore, engineering major, Hopewell
Courtney McCaw, freshman, division of undergraduate studies major, Monaca
Christopher Nocera, freshman, engineering major, Ellwood City
Frank Wisen, freshman, liberal arts major, Moon Township

College Honors Program Award - Jessie Thomson, sophomore agriculture major, Clinton

Student Activity Awards
Amanda Brobek, senior, communications major, Center Township
Sarah Covalt, junior, business major, Rochester
Katie Culp, sophomore, agriculture major, Baden
Justin Harmon, freshman, business major, Trenton, NJ
Stephanie Shearer, sophomore, applied psychology major, Carnegie

Club Advisor Award - Dr. Michael Hay, associate professor of chemistry, Beaver

Academic Advisor Award - Dr. Kay Wijekumar, associate professor of information sciences and technology, Sewickley
Penn State Beaver Advisory Board / Bayer MaterialScience, LLC Faculty Excellence in Teaching Award - Dr. Minhnoi Wroble Biglan, assistant professor of psychology, Pittsburgh

Penn State Beaver Advisory Board / Michael Baker Corporation Faculty Excellence in Research Award - Dr. Zhongyuan Che, assistant professor of mathematics, Monaca

Penn State Beaver Advisory Board / NOVA Chemicals, Inc. Faculty Excellence in Service Award - Ms. Teresa Baumgardner, instructor in communications, arts, and sciences, Aliquippa

Penn State Beaver Advisory Board / ESB Bank Staff Excellence Award - Mrs. Jennie Ward, staff assistant, Offices of Division of Undergraduate Studies, Master’s of Education, and Registrar, Center Township

For information about the Awards Banquet, contact the Office of Student Affairs at asb1@psu.edu or 724-773-3956.


Email this story to a friend Facebook Twitter